Bullying is a big problem in many schools.

What do you think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

it is true that bullying in schools is becoming more severe and happening frequently. While this is a severe problem, it can be solved by teaching students proper online etiquette.

The main cause of increased bullying is the easy access to the internet and social media which students now enjoy. The constant presence of the internet now means that students can be bullied through computers or mobile phones. They no longer have to be face-to-face with their tormentor and can suffer from harassment regardless of time or place. Not only that, this means that teachers have no resources to help prevent cyberbullying because they cannot oversee what goes on online. To provide an idea of the scale of the problem, a survey stated that 42 percent of students have been harassed online. Many received hurtful messages, and some even got them everyday. Such statistics are far higher compared to just a decade ago when smartphones and home computers were not as commonplace.

However, there are solutions to this problem. One of the ways to restrict bullying is to educate students about the importance of being respectful and polite to others on the internet. Understanding harmful effects of mean comments on social media is an important and effective step towards preventing bullying online. For instance, some schools are now offering classes in which teachers show students negative impacts of cyberbullying and explain proper online etiquette. they have caused students to start treating others with mor respect online, and the number of counseling sessions related to bullying in these schools is decreasing.

To sum up, it is clear that the prevalance of the internet and social media has made bullying more common. Nevertheless, this problem can be resolved with teaching students the importance of being well-mannered online.