For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some think that computer skills be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

In this developing world, advancement in technology has changed our life significantly. Using computers is one of the basic skills required for every individual. While reading, writing and mathematics have been the most integral parts of education over centuries, some people believe that developing computer skills should be included in the curriculum.

There are various reasons why education systems should emphasize on considering computers in syllabus. It cannot be denied that world is going digital now a days. Many people suggest that, introducing computer in a very young age will help develop the digital skills required in future.

The main aim of the academic education is to develop essential life skills like reading, writing, numerical calculations which are imperative in all life situations. Likewise, digital literacy is also considered to be very important. It is beneficial in many ways, Firstly it would help children in future with university education. For instance, while pursuing academic education students are required to give powerpoint presentation and slides for their projects. Therefore, early introduction to computer education will make things much more easier for them.

In addition, in this technosavvy world a good command on computer is the pre-requisite for most of the job requirements. For example, people often need to use computers at workplace to keep records, send emails and build customer relationships. Thus, ability to use computers helps individuals with job prospects and even increases choices of employability.

In conclusion, in my opinion, in order to enable children to walk hand in hand with the digital world, the educational authorities should consider adding computer to the curriculum.