Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, due to the development of social media and technical devices, children tend to be so sedentary in their leisure time. Thus, many schools suggest that sports should be included in the curriculum as the mandatory lessons and there are divergent opinions on this. In my viewpoint, that is the right direction of the school leaders.

Some people say that pupils have to spend all their time to study as well as prepare for the exams, so sporting activities are a waste of valuable study time. However, it is essential to maintain good health so that children’s mental can be developed. For example, student who regularly does physical exercises is able to concentrate on learning the lessons and internalize more knowledge than one who does not. Moreover, doing sports activities is the advantageous way to help children not only learn discipline and working with others as a team, but also improve specialized skills such as pass and shot in football.

Besides, it is thought that the educational institutions ought to spend much money on facilities and hiring coaches once they have added sports to the compulsory curriculum. In fact, schoolchildren may suffer some health issues if the regular physical exercises are not done seriously. This can be the reason that the government will have to spend far more money on medical treatments in the future. Another point is that, although there are many sports centers, only few people usually go there. Therefore, it is better for the children to learn sports and do physical activities when they are still at school so as to become the energetic adults in the future.

In conclusion, I believe that sports instruction must be part of the compulsory curriculum. Though schools need to pay much money for sports facilities, it is necessary for students to improve both physical and mental health. Through this, they can maintain the vibrant lifestyle and help society become more active.