Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays young people often spend their free time at home watching TV or playing computer games. Very few do sports outside of school. This means that if they don’t do exercise during school time, they will be unfit and suffer from health problems. I agree that children should do sports lessons at school. In this essay I will explain why.

Some people say that sports lessons are a waste of time. Students have to prepare for exams and should spend all the time on academic work. This is what many people think in my country. In my opinion they are wrong. A healthy mind needs a healthy body. Doing exercise every day makes you happy and relaxed. Studying all the time can make you stressed.

Another reason for my opinion is that having an unfit generation will cause many problems for society. When today’s children get older, unfortunately they may suffer from illnesses like heart disease. The government will have to spend a lot of money on doctors and hospitals. It is much better to create a fit and healthy adult population by getting children to do sports when they are still at school. In addition, sports teach people discipline and working as a team. This will help them in their future life.

In conclusion, I can say that prevention is better than cure. Children who do sports will be healthier, happier adults. They are more likely to continue with their active lifestyle when they grow up. In this way we can make a better society for the future.