Children nowadays spend a great deal of time watching television. However, television cannot replace the book as a learning tool, which is why children are less well‐educated today. To what extent do you agree with this statement ?

In current world, television being widely used as a supplement for education by students. People believe that spending a lot of time watching television will affect children’s learning and it can never replace book as an education gadget. This essay will discuss why book should not be replaced by television.

First of all, it clear that television should not replace book as learning material owing to the fact that children always misuse it without the supervision of parents. To exemplify, children prefer to watch cartoon programme than educative programme as it is more attractive and interesting. I am convinced children will prefer TV show which is more entertaining than educating.

Moreover, children generally more focus on audio-visual programme, not on learning if they learn through television. However, learning process will become more effective by using book as they can concentrate on the contents of book and lessons it offered with less distraction. Furthermore, television is addictive, and many parents complain that their children spend hours a day in front of television and not willing to focus on their studies. What worst is spending too much of time watching television is detrimental to their health. This also a part of what parents worry for.

To summarize, I strongly agree that book can never be replaced by television as a learning tool. As children do not have strong self-discipline to guarantee them would not misuse the television without accompany of parents. Television is less educative and addictive, so it is not suitable as a main learning tool.