Classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success at school. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's modern society, there needs a lot of factors for children's success in academic settings. There is a big statement that classmates influence more than parents a child to be successful at school. From my point of view, I partly agree with this statement.

On the one hand, there are two major reasons that show that parents having an impact on their children. First, parents are the first educators in a child's life. Parents provide guidance, support and create a learning environment at home, which helps children comfortable enough to learn. Besides, they also have abilities to satisfy their children's needs. They can sacrifice everything to give children the best education that helps they have more chances to be successful in the future. Second, parents are the source of encouragement and motivation. They are the ones who know the importance of education and set expectations for their children's academic performance. Parents frequently create a conducive environment at home. They assist their children with their homework and engage in discussions about school topics, which helps children be more interested in studying and want to widen their knowledge about different topics. In short, parents can boost a child's motivation significantly and drive them to succeed.

On the other hand, classmates are as important as parents for two rationales. To begin with, classmates are understandable people. They and the children are the same age, so they are likely to understand each other thoroughly. Besides, they assist each other to solve their problems easily. At their age, they have various sensitive secrets, which can not talk about with their parents; however, they can share them with their classmates without worrying so that they can work out suitable solutions. For this reason, they can teach each other soft skills which help them deal with certain situations, that parents do not educate at home. In addition, classmates create a competitive studying environment. When receive the results of exams, children see their classmates have to better results than them, they will be motivated to study harder. That helps build up a positive academic setting.

In conclusion, I party agree with the statement that classmates are a more important influence than parents on a child's success at school.