Cohabitation is believed to bring huge advantages for young people since it enables them to fully understand each other before deciding to get married.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, the trend of trying to live together for a period of time has brought controversy for many people. While some assume that it can be beneficial for the youth to understand each other before getting married, others do not. In my view, I agree with the former opinion and I will further discuss this in this essay.

First and foremost, cohabitation is a good chance for the young to become real adults. When it comes to living together, it means that people in that house all need to take the responsibility to improve and keep it safe. Couples may equally share tasks in the house and learn to live in harmony. There is every likelihood that they will be helped improve their own daily living skills from the other, hence, when getting married, they will not find it difficult and hesitant.

Secondly, it is clear that cohabitation may give people an opportunity to discover other's sides that they did not know before. Their real character such as personal habits, lifestyles, and hobbies will be shown when they are at home. This helps the other to fully understand their boy or girlfriend and see if their personalities suit each other or not before deciding to get married. According to Pew Research Center, the majority of Americans, about 69%, think that cohabitation is acceptable and helpful even when they do not plan to get married.

In conclusion, I believe that cohabitation is a great way to know more about different aspects of the other which they do not show outside their home and it is advised to try living together before making a married decision.