Cohabitation is believed to bring huge advantages for young people since it enables them to fully understand each other before deciding to get married.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The cohabitation of young couples has become the subject of considerable debate during the past decades. Many people are of the opinion that living with their significant other before marriage brings about a considerable amount of benefits as it allows them to gain greater insight into each other. From my perspective, I share the same view with the above opinion as cohabitation facilitates an environment where young couples can explore and prepare themselves for their life after marriage.

To begin, one of the major advantages when it comes to the cohabitation of unmarried young adults is that they will be able to understand their partners' personalities and habits on a deeper level. Indeed, many people often put on a persona when they go on dates to impress their lovers, which can be deceiving as their negative traits are carefully concealed from their future husbands or wives. Cohabitation eliminates this problem as partners are constantly exposed to each other since they will be living under the same roof; therefore, any traits which were previously hidden will slowly resurface as time passes.

Another advantage of cohabitation is that it allows unmarried couples to prepare themselves for independent family life. In other words, cohabitating will enable couples to gain the necessary knowledge to manage a household. For example, newlyweds usually face many difficulties as they will have to navigate their way through various bills such as electricity, water, internet, and alike while also seeking jobs to sustain themselves. All of this generates an enormous burden on the relationship which can easily lead to divorce. Cohabitation before marriage prevents this from happening as they will already be equipped with the necessary skills and experience long before their marriage.

In conclusion, many people believe cohabitation brings many advantages to young adults who are still dating. In my opinion, I agree with the aforementioned view as living together enables one to explore their partner more thoroughly while also preparing themselves for the possible hardships that they may face after marriage.