Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In this fast paced era where the concept of advertisement has been changed drastically and now more focus is put to sell the product in any way irrespective of consequences it may have due to selling techniques companies adopt. Some people are of the view the customers are influenced by the promotion of the product and tend to over-purchase. I stand by this school of thought as consumers are inclined to buy the product when they are believed to receive enormous benefits from that very product.

To begin with, it is undoubtable fact that companies are well aware of the tactics as to how they have to convince the consumer to purchase a product. Unfortunately, this is adversely affecting customer’s purchasing power as they tend to buy a product which is not required. For instance, people who have brown color because of the melanin in their body are shown in the advertisement that using their cream can make their skin color white in just 15 days. Similarly, I myself purchased a vegetable cutter costing Rs. 1500 seeing the ad only which was not required. But in the advertisement it was shown to be most efficient tool that is required in the kitchen and a must to have.

In order to overcome the situation, is it essential that Govt. and relative controlling authorities filter the advertisements which are meant to be for niche market but shown to mass. As such promotions misguide the consumer to purchase irrelevant products. Additionally, ad agencies should put a sharp focus on target oriented marketing.

To recapitulate the aforementioned, it is evident that misleading advertisement pose an adverse influence on the consumers and corrective measures needs to be taken proactively in this regard to avoid any disastrous situation.