What are some of the reasons firms engage in FDI?

Foreign direct investment is the net inflows of investment to acquire a lasting management interest (10 percent or more of voting stock) in an enterprise operating in an economy other than that of the investor. It is the sum of equity capital, reinvestment of earnings, other long-term capital, and short-term capital as shown in the balance of payments. Along with the trade liberalization and globalization, there are more and more enterprises engage in FDI to seek certain benefits. This essay is to elaborate on four main reasons.

Firstly, most international corporations establish plants or distribution networks abroad to take advantage of lower labor costs. Most developing countries have abundant labor resources with much lower prices in comparison with the labor market in developed countries. For example, since the price of labor in China has not been as cheap as in the past anymore, many manufacturers have moved their factories to some Southeast Asian countries such as Vietnam. According to a calculation, on average each month, Samsung only pays for a Vietnamese female worker including wages and overtime at about 353 USD. This figure is only 1/10 of the salary of a worker in Korea.

Secondly, multinational enterprises also aim to reduce logistics costs when seeking for a suitable location to set up their distribution systems or plants. For instance, by producing cars in the UK, Nissan can lower transport costs when selling to the UK market for up to 30%.

Thirdly, foreign investors can also benefit from investment incentives such as cash grants, tax credit, accelerated depreciation, and low interest-bearing loans which are sponsored by national or local authorities. For example, if in Korea, Samsung has to pay a 22% tax every year, then when coming to Vietnam, Samsung does not have to pay a penny for 4 consecutive years for the so-called corporate income tax.

And finally, direct investment in foreign markets provides companies with opportunities for using local knowledge to help tap into domestic markets. For example, by investing in a foreign country and working with local workers, a multinational can gain a better insight into what works well for local markets.

In conclusion, because of the above benefits, FDI is an indispensable investment trend in this era for multinational companies to expand markets and prolong the life cycle of products.