The costs of medical health care are increasing all the time. Governments are finding it difficult to balance the health care budget.

Should citizens be totally responsible for their own health costs and take out private health insurance, or is it better to have a comprehensive health care system which provides free health services for all? Discuss.

Due to the increasing cost of healthcare which causes the difficulty for many governments to pay the entire amount, some people argue that citizens should not be given any free healthcare and should buy their own health insurance. I believe that free medical healthcare should only be provided to those who are too poor to afford it.

To commence with, those who are able should hold responsibility for healthcare expenses and purchase private health insurance. Not all nations can afford to pay for every patient’s treatments as well as the salaries of thousands of hospital’s staff. For example, in some developing countries, the government has to address several other problems including education, environment and unemployment so the national budget cannot accommodate free healthcare for the whole population. Moreover, private health insurance will be worthwhile in emergency situations. If they get sick, they may have to pay very little or even nothing at all. Privately insured people are also entitled to special benefits such as skipping the waiting list and choosing their preffered doctor.

Furthermore, I believe that fee-free healthcare should only be doled out to a special group of people. To be specific, those who are living in poverty may not have enough money to pay for hospitalisation, which may prevent them from going to the hospital. In the long run, this may lead their health to deteriorate, which does much harm. Those people have to suffer from adversities and disadvantages in their life so free healthcare should be provided to encourage them to take care of their own health.

To conclude, only providing free healthcare for poor and disabled residents can help reduce the burden on national budgets and hospitals and at the same time, it can also ensure that everyone gets their health taken care of properly.