When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

When it comes to planning a construction, there has been a controversial argument regarding whether to prioritise its practical values or its aesthetic ones. Personally, I believe that this matter should depend on certain kind of constructions.

On the one hand, a building’s exterior design can be beneficial in some cases as it helps attract people’s attention. These days, people tend to travel to places with appealing decorations that could satisfy their eyes and take photos to show their friends via media apps. For example, a café with attracting backgrounds would possibly draw many more customers, especially the teenagers, than a café with basic ones. Rather than coming to truly enjoy a cup of coffee, they come for a photo shoot with the café’s decorations.

On the other hand, many civil buildings that provide service for residents should focus on the purposes they serves rather than their exterior appearance. With regard to service constructions, people would surely give priority to the quality of the facilities they provide which assure themselves of receiving the best assistance. For example, people, especially the adults, would have a tendency to go to a hospital with well-qualified amenities rather than the one with appealing appearance but negatively commented regarding service.

To conclude, I can say in affirmative that the intended use and exterior designs are equally important when constructing a building. However, people should carefully consider the building’s purpose in order to make a proper decision on whether to put their emphasis on the former or the latter one.