Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals contend that a prolonged average working hours of citizens could allow the state to have better economic development compared with nations that have shorter office hours. I completely agree with this argument.

To begin with, longer office hours can be beneficial to the cities. Citizenry staying in the workplace for a longer time will have a higher salary. Many companies pay workers according to their working time, so those who work for longer or even stay overnight in the office can earn more. For example, nurses in the US can have triple the hourly wage rate than originally if they work extra hours. Higher salaries of city dwellers imply that they have more savings, spending more on consumer goods like food, electronic gadgets, and clothing. Thus, the expenditure of citizens will go to the companies so it will reinvest their income into society. Consequently, the state will have more thriving economic growth due to the huge consumer spending.

In addition, longer working hours can train citizens’ durability and this can motivate them to be more hard-working. For example, Hong Kong is one of the cities with the longest working hours in the world, rated as one of the most competitive cities in the world. People who live in Hong Kong already get used to long working hours and overtime working is so common there. Therefore, they treat 10 hours working as a normal situation so civilians there are so hard working. Working overnight is even culture in some of the financial industries in Hong Kong such as investment banking and audit. It is the endurable personality of the residents trained through a decade that makes Hong Kong an international financial center, being one of the most economically developed places.

In conclusion, there are many advantages in terms of economic boosting for the citizenry to stay longer in the workplace so I totally agree that long working hours can make a state more economically competitive.