In countries where there is high unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who will have no hope of finding a job.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people are convinced that majority of students who are living in the country having high rate of unemployment, only need to complete primary curriculum and find it unnecessary to learn secondary school. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this opinion.

The main reason is that the knowledge that is taught in primary education is not sufficient and effective for people to apply in real life. To clarify, primary school is simply basis where students learn how to spell, write well and improve their awareness about some simple subjects like Maths, Literature, and English. Take Vietnamese educational system as an example, during 5-year period, teachers try their best to accustom students to plus, abstractions, multiplications and so on. They also are taught about morality and how to behave well in society. Therefore, learning in primary school is the first step that encourage people to develop more in the future.

Another factor worth mentioning is that secondary education is the environment where students can reveal their creativity and perceive new knowledge. To put in another way, this period is opportunity for juveniles to approach new subjects, which are instrumental in their career. Although many students will not be trained in academic environment, some subjects like Maths, Physics, Chemistry give them basis knowledge. From this, young adults can find job in physicall demanding like jobs related- security, jobs related- agriculture. In conclusion,secondary environment plays a pivotal role in the pupils’ life because it helps them find a job to secure their income, as a result, the rate of unemployment would decrease.

In short, I completely disaproval of the idea that secondary school is not essential in some developing countries and citizens in these countries only need to finish their primary curriculum for above reasons.