In countries where there is a high rate of unemployment, most pupils should be offered only primary education. There is no point in offering secondary education to those who have no hope of finding a job. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In developing nations with high unemployment rate, it is said that offering secondary education to the children is hopeless and wasteful. However, I completely disagree with this opinion because I believe education brings more benefits to people besides only job seeking skills.

Firstly, secondary education helps children broaden their vision and thinking. It is the foundation of generating ideas and innovations. Primary school only teaches pupils literacy skills, numeracy skills and common knowledge with little analysis and evaluation. However, in secondary schools, students have the chance to study different subjects in depth with reasonings. They are encouraged to discover their strengths and interests to find their path in life. Therefore, children need more guidance to learn about themselves and others, to fully develop their personality, to learn fundamental knowledge and skills, and develop problem solving and critical thinking skills.

Secondly, puberty is an important stage in life for people. It is when youngsters need guidance most and school is a safe place for adolescents to learn about themselves. A person without good teachers is like a boat without a compass. Life will be harsh for them if they work too early. They will not able to deal with other people and how to solve problems by themselves. People without secondary education will become unskillful workers with limit knowledge and they may not be able to innovate and strive for success.

In conclusion, there are more requirements before entering the workplace besides being able to read and write. Therefore, secondary education is essential for everyone, especially places with high unemployment rate.