Some people think that the employees who have been working with the company for a longer time should only be promoted. What is your opinion?

Few individuals believe that the personnel who have been working with the organisation for an extended time should just be advanced. This essay opines that the longevity of service cannot be considered as the main criteria for promoting workers as it is an unfair strategy which would harm a corporation and its employees in the long run.

To embark with, making seniority a prime factor in promoting staff members is itself a biased approach since only the senior employees of the workforce would have the opportunity to get promoted. As a consequence, other junior subordinates who are otherwise hardworking might not get any chance of advancements. For instance, numerous multinational companies such as Cola-Cola or Facebook consider hard work, dedication and performance while promoting any employee despite the numbers of years served in the corporation. Thus, this method is detrimental not only to the personnel but also for the corporation itself as the deserving candidates who are capable of enhancing the productivity are left behind.

However, considering factors such as dedication, persistent and intellect are more advantageous as these norms provide ample opportunity to all the workforce irrespective of their association with the company. Moreover, it will inspire all the staff to work diligently and everyone has an equal chance of advancements. Hence, the productivity of a corporation will improve significantly and also hard working employees will get their fair share either a monetary benefit or a higher position. For example, Sun Pharmaceutical is a leading drug manufacturing company where the sole benchmark of getting a promotion is an outstanding performance. Due to such policy, the firm is progressing at a rapid rate becoming India's biggest pharmaceutical company in 2014.

To conclude, although senior staff members have served for a longer duration, it does not justify that they are the only ones who should be given promotions. An employee who works hard and has demonstrated the required skills should be advanced regardless of years of association with a firm.