In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

It is the fact that people now live longer than in the past thanks to the development of health services and higher standard of living, but many countries are facing problems caused by ageing populations. This essay will analyze some issues influenced by this phenomenon and the measures that can be taken to reduce it.

In my opinion, increasing average life expectancy can lead to two main problems. Firstly, a nation will lack labor workforces if there are more oldsters than youngsters in that country. Consequently, a variety of fields in a country could not develop, such as: economic, military, sport and so on. For instance, military power will decline when recruiting rookies meets a lot of difficulties as the number of new soldiers continue to decrease from time to time. Secondly, some burdens can be put on the State budget when the government has to pay pensions and subsidies for the aged too much. Whereas young people are the primary workers have to pay a large amount of taxes to offset the budget deficit.

Ageing populations can certainly be improved. I believe the change must be start with the government, who needs to raise the retirement age up to five years. Thus, the government can save a large amount of money spent for pensions. Besides, they should open more the elderly care centers so that their descendants could devote lots of time to work. Moreover, governments can promote the import of cheap labor from poor countries in the world to replace the shortage of young workers in their countries. Last but not least, a country should encourage couples to have at least two children by some policy like giving gifts or reducing tax for those who have more than one child.

In conclusion, ageing populations may have a bad impact on a country in many aspects. However, some solutions can be used to solve it and the government ought not to neglect this problem.