The availability of entertainment such as video games on handheld devices is harmful to individuals and to the society they live in. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

Technology has given rise to the abundance of means of entertainment, leading many people to believe that it is detrimental to both individuals and society. While acknowledging the reasons for this thinking, I would argue that this availability could be beneficial to an extent.

Granted, one might argue that as ways of entertainment proliferate, they could pose a grave threat to individuals and society. As for the former, prolonged exposure to technological gadgets might lead to several serious life-threatening medical conditions such as deteriorated eyesight, baggage, headache, or even depression, in a worst scenario. As for the latter, entertainment forms related to games, in fact, affects our brain subconsciously, potentially leading players to imitate the actions performed in these forms of entertainment. These actions may include robbery, mugging, violence, or even murder, perpetuating and exacerbating social issues. However, these mentioned above perspectives just happen if they are consumed excessively, and can be addressed effectively by restricting time limits, partaking in more outdoor activities, and engaging in personal interests. This, as a result, renders these means of entertainment a powerful tool for relaxation.

Dangerous as it might be, these forms of entertainment can exert such a favorable influence on people’s minds. Living in the 21st century, people are often filled with worry, ranging from family burden to school life. They, therefore, may find games or other forms of entertainment appealing and relaxing. Immersing themselves in such a mesmerizing world of entertainment can serve as a vehicle for relaxation, positively impacting people’s mental well-being. Aside from being a stress reliever, most, if not all, kinds of entertainment can bolster the economy. This is because companies and businesses can gain lucrative profit from offering and selling their services, collaborating with smartphones' brands to earn money for each download. These acts can significantly contribute to economic growth, making the society become more prosperous. This factor is a testament to how powerful these relaxing inventions can be in our lives.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for voicing people’s concerns about the harmful impacts of such means of entertainment, I would contend that if used appropriately, it will benefit both people and society.