The education you receive from your family is more important than the education you receive from school.

To what extent do you agree with this statement and why?

What no one can refute, is that education is a vital part of one’s life. Which is more important, school or home, remains a topic of debate for many. I tend to agree with both sides of the argument, and I will explain the same in this essay.

Education starts from the first day of birth, when a mother guides a baby to drink milk, and once started, guidance from parents never stops. As part of the earliest development, even before talking and walking for some, a child is taught how to eat, to be polite, to love siblings, and even hot to deal with disagreements. This only just touches on every day etiquette, morals and relationship building. Little importance given to such teachings would mean a nursery going kid could be at risk of being considered rude, unhygienic, argumentative or a child without friends.

Similarly, the training received at School builds upon what is learnt at home and more. If earlier life lessons did not exist, disciplined schooling would be a difficult task. Moreover, to excel in this world, one must possess a skill to make a living on, however expert it may be. An educational institute provides this skill, or rather the information on which skills are built. For instance, the trades of English Language, without which, I would never have been able to write this essay.

In conclusion, families teach life lessons, whereas skill and opportunities to practice former learning is provided by schools. Thus, it stands to say that both familial and formal educations are equally important, in my opinion.