environment

The growing demand in car usage is one of the principal causes of environmental degradation. While some reasons can be identified to explain rising use of cars, both the individual and the government could take steps to improve the situation.

Financial reasons and lifestyle changes have led to a growth in car ownership and the frequent use of cars. In terms of money, cars are now more affordable, and in developed countries, every household is likely to have their own car. It was never the case in the past when cars were the symbol of identity and status and only the economic class could pay for a car. From the perspective of lifestyle, using cars brings a variety of benefits to human being due to its convenience. For example, people can drive their cars for work, shopping, taking children to and from school.

However, several feasible solutions could be put forward to solve the problems. Firstly, the government can control the frequent use of car by raising petrol prices and impose restrictions on cars in specific time during the day. Besides, congestion charge may be taken into consideration to ease traffic flow. Secondly, resources should be allocated to upgrade the infrastructure and encourage the use of public transport by offering free bus or train passes. Finally, it is important for the government to raise the awareness of the citizens about the consequences of environmental issues resulting from the burning of fossil fuels.

In conclusion, environmental destruction is a result of the significant increase in the number of privately owned cars and the reasons behind this issue are well-known. However, various solutions could be tackled to help the environment.