Everyone should become vegetarian because they do not need to eat meat to have a healthy diet. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that meat cannot provide a healthy diet and that many people should become vegetarians remains controversial. In my opinion, I completely disagree with this belief.

On the one hand, a plant-based diet cannot meet enough essential nutrients for human daily needs. Although there are many scientific articles have proven that vegetables such as carrots, onions, and lemons have lots of vitamins and anti-oxidants that help people fight against chronic diseases, they are still deficient in some minerals. Zinc or iron for example, while these minerals are pro-substances for blood generation processes, vegetables can not adapt enough as meat does. As a result, people especially children can suffer anemia if they conform to long-term vegetarian-friendly meals. Moreover, the intensive farming processes result in high levels remained pesticides in greens, which have negative impacts for human health.

On the other hand, the choice between the diversity of food should be followed by the hobby. In some countries, meat has become a symbol of cuisine culture. For instance, during the Thanksgiving holiday, turkey is a central dish symbolizing the harvest and expressing gratitude. The change of this belief is a challenging process, beginning from cultural and social perspectives. In addition, some people immerse themselves in the flavor and texture of meat. Despite the fact that lab-grown meat is developing, the replication of “real meat” experiences is still far off. In reality, the complete replacement of this artificial meat seems to be realistic due to high prices.

In conclusion, a heathy diet should be balanced between vegetables and meat to obtain good health.