Families who send their children to private schools should not be required to pay taxes that support the state education system.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people claim that it is unnecessary to force parents who have children studying in private schools to pay taxes in order to back up the state education system. However, I completely disagree with this statement because I believe that paying taxes to promote public schools is prominent.

There are many reasons why I think the idea would not work or would be unfair. Firstly, it is difficult to calculate the tax reduction because many families send their children to private schools as well as state schools, so it would take much time to categorize which household would be beneficial from tax cuts. Secondly, all the citizens pay for public services that we may not need. For example, most people are fortunate enough not to have to call the police during their whole lives, but they are still willing to contribute to the tax revenue of the government. Finally, if affluent classes were given a tax discount for sending their children to private schools, we might experience a situation where poorer people would pay more than wealthy people.

From my point of view, we should pay our shares of the money that supports state schools. It is good for all members of society to have a high-quality education system with equal opportunities for all young people. This will lead to a well-educated workforce which is the key to a prosperous nation. All students, including students in private schools, would see these benefits in their own lives. Many companies, for instance, need competent staff, and an education system invested elaborately can provide such employees.

All in all, imposing tax reductions on people who choose private education should not be implemented in any case.