A few languages are increasingly spoken in different countries, while the usage of others is rapidly declining. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It is true that some languages are widely being spoken in many nations as a result of globalization, but the opposite trend is witnessed for the rest. I believe that this phenomenon has both bright sides and drawbacks.

On the one hand, strengthening the use of some selected languages is beneficial in some ways. Firstly, it cultivates the understanding as well as eliminates mislead between different parts of the world. For example, mastering common languages like English or Spanish gives speakers with distinguished nationalities an easier assess to communicate more effeciently in global meetings. In addition, students or workers and in developing countries studying global languages to have favorable conditions in keeping up with updated documents published worldwide. Thanks for this, the gap between poor nations and healthy ones in term of a wide range of field such as education and technology are shortened.

On the other hand, it is my opinion that the reduction in using some languages has a variety of adverse impacts. Initially, the disappearance of some languages put the cultural diversification in jeopardy. Undeniably, language (both verbal and writen) is crucial part of culture. Failuring in remaining the mother toung is conducive to the detorioration in hesitate culture in some countries. Further and even more significantly, poor nations failing to catch up using common language are more and more isolated. Let ‘s take Taytung as a stark example, had it been for the policy of the goverment to encourage their resident to speak home language only, this nation is now in isolation part from the word.

In conclusion, few languages are gaining widely use while the others are witnessing considerable decline. This trend bring both advantages and disadvantages to nations concerned.