The top priority of businesses is making money, and they do not need to have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that corporations should focus on generating profits instead of having public responsibilities. While I accept that this perception is somewhat justifiable, I believe that companies are necessitated to serve society.

On the one hand, it is understandable that to grow a business, money is indispensable for companies. Firstly, the cash flow from firms which is extremely abundant could contribute to the development of their countries. This is because of the more taxes are paid by conglomerates, the more opportunities for cutting-edge equipment and high-tech facilities might be invested in by authorities. Secondly, the expansion of remunerative contracts is an undertaking for a stable job market. It can be perfectly explained by the fact that since there is a decrease in the number of bankruptcies, the rates of mass dismissal might no longer be gained, thereby, numerous employees could be able to embark on a steady job.

On the other hand, there is a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that communal obligation is significantly imperative for even the smallest company. The first reason is that enterprises need to be responsible for environmental degradation. Observing the case of Formosa in 2014, a huge number of marine species such as coastal have been on the verge of extinction stem from millions tones of lethal sewage had eliminated to the East Sea, consequently, their production process was put under the legal control and its relevant managers had to compensate for their biological indifference. Another reason is that assistance from firms on social issues are considerably fundamental. A prime example is that a prosperous charitable fund was launched by VinGroup last month, facilitating the construction of various unprofitable healthcare center, educational equipment, and recreational facilities which not only adapting the elemental needs of orphaned children but also the ones who have lived below the poverty line in my nation.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that putting a high priority on monetary matters is reasonable, I would contend that taking philanthropic actions on society is essential for corporates.