Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, one of the underlying trends today is to transport food from distant major companies, which provide competitive prices, even if it is from the opposite edge of a continent.

I am inclined to believe that, looking from the business point of view it is beneficial, although, in the grand scheme of things, long term consequences could bring more harm than good.

First of all, most of the consumers do not pay proper attention to the quality of a product or in which country it was produced. The most significant factor that people note is the price. The situation when domestic farmers can not compete with foreign ones is quite common, and there are a lot of factors which have a crucial influence on it. For instance, the area of arable lands is insufficient or they are just not fertile enough. It causes that farmers have to put more effort and money to collect their harvest, so this the reason why the overall price of the product will be higher.

Also, the trend nowadays is towards people dumping prices to have a more secure position on the market, and one way to achieve it is to make worse quality products. The consumers, who are seduced by colourful and attractive adverts, had not read the product composition. A few years ago, the newspapers have brought information about Chinese honey, which was flooding the American market. Instead of pure honey, it was a mixture of the rice-sugar syrup, which was undetectable in laboratory tests. After the government intervention (they legislated new law and modernised laboratory tests) the problem was solved.

Contrary to that, the advocates of transporting food from distant areas argue that some countries have better possibilities to produce a sufficient number of particular products so people should just accept it and import it willingly. Moreover, they also claim that there are worldwide trade unions, which provide well-known and restricted provisions defining the quality so all fears are unreasonable.

To conclude, I truly believe that people should spend more money on local products to boost the national economy, even though the market competition is beneficial so if the quality of transported goods is as good or even better as the domestic one they should have equal law to locate their products in the market.