In some countries, most of people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

In a span of last few decades, the costs of living have risen significantly - mostly in developed countries - so the increasing number of people who find renting properties as the best solution to live is not surprising. The question of whether to buy or rent a home is very topical today, as many people are struggling with financial issues.

In the beginning, the opponents of buying properties highlight the underlying argument which is enormous costs of buying a flat or a house in urban and busy cities, such as London. People who work or study in greater London are strongly connected with this particular area, which means they have to find a home in not a significant distance from it. Although the prices of properties outweigh people financial possibilities, so the only solution is to rent for their own or even share a flat with other tenants. This allows living not far away for petty money. Another argument in favour of renting a home is that people do not need to apply for credits, which could be limiting further investment. Moreover, those speculative investments can multiply tenants capital, which will make them wealthier.

Contrary to that, those who object to rent often argue that buying the property is a perfect way of investment. The credit instalment is usually proportional to monthly rental payment so that after paying back the credit, someone becomes a landlord. This situation will not occur accordingly to rental as after, for instance, 20 years of living tenants are left with nothing. Also, nowadays, the market for short-term rental is super popular. Furthermore, it can provide a tremendous source of incomes, as for the short-term, tourists will pay the higher rental price. However, the long-term profits of possessing the property are also impressive. The bigger number of properties the family have, the more of which children can inherit. The effort of one generation will bring up much goodness for the another.

In conclusion, I am inclined to believe that both options have their risks, although the advantages of possessing property far outweigh the disadvantages.