For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skills be made as a fourth skill added to the list. To what extent do you agree

Ability, such as reading, writing, maths, have been always treated as basic knowledge, which all students at the end of their education process have to possess. In the span of a few last decades, the strong development of computer science has occurred. I personally believe that this is another skill, which should be well known by many, as the process of digitization is constantly progressing.

First of all, the main aim of inventing computers was to improve the quality of life, and because of that now computers accompany people in many daily actions. For instance, there is no need to go out to send money or pay bills because now it can be done by an internet bank account. Moreover, when the PC is connected to other electronic devices, such as mobile phones, they can easily share information so that to take a laptop when leaving home is not necessary. The computers can also provide a huge amount of knowledge in terms of the internet, as there can be found answers to any questions.

Another explanation often given for treating computer skills as something basic is that nowadays this is the most common ability asked about by employee in the enrolment process. It is really hard to imagine that someone is looking for a job in a corporation and does not know how to use a computer. The knowledge about how to send an email, use printer, count data in excel or just make some bar chart is quite common and the trend to learn how to use computers nowadays among people is rising.

To conclude, I am inclined to believe that computer skills are crucial in daily life, as the internet is used in numerous actions and this becomes a 4th skill added to the list.