Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

In the last 100 years, population number has significantly risen from 1,8bilion to 7.8bilion while the earth’s surface remained constant. The housing demands are constantly growing, as the trend to share flats with others is not attractive enough. It should not be surprising - everybody prefers to have some privacy. The question is, where new buildings should be constructed: inside or outside the cities?

First of all, proponents of the idea to expand present cities often claim that this is a cheaper solution, as all infrastructure is already made. Proper communication, public galleries or access to theaters is something which is growing with the city, and this might be really tricky to obtain it accordingly to the idea of building a new town. To construct a new object in agglomeration densely build-up the only issue is to possess a suitable plot for a new investment. Although when company owns it they can only multiply their capital because the prices of apartments in busy cities are ridiculously expensive.

On balance, opponents of exacerbating process of overcrowding cities, tend to believe that the only wise decision is to create artificial, new towns. They claim that the cost of living will be lower, as the land price and cost of services will not be overstated. Moreover, recently quite a few pundits have suggested that minor towns with their own infrastructure are reasonable environment to organize communities of neighbours, which will help each other when they were in need. Such phenomenon could bond people together and the level of crime will be low.

To conclude, both ideas have their advantages and disadvantages but in my personal opinion, if i could have chosen I would decide to live in suburbs where the prices of properties are lower and the communication to city center is still efficient.