Foreign language instruction should begin in kindergarten. Discuss.

Write at least 250 words.

The introduction of foreign language should be taught to children starting from kindergarten. While some people view this as a perfect preparation for the future, others believe that it might delay the intellectual growth of the children, especially in their linguistic skill. This essay will discuss both of these perspectives.

In today's world, it is common for an individual to master more than one language. Moreover, this ability to communicate in foreign language will provide an individual a competitive advantage compare to others. Therefore, an early introduction of foreign language will help the children to be prepared once they are ready to join the workforce in the future.

Nevertheless, the introduction of foreign language in the early age can also interrupt the children's ability to master a language. For instance, a child who was born in China will develop a speech in Mandarin. It will take year for the child to master mandarin, moreover by teaching the child a foreign language, such as English, this lesson will clash the main language that is under development. Hence, it will lead to a problem where the child is unable to master both languages and only partially fluent on these languages.

In conclusion, the ability to speak foreign language is considered as beneficial in the current society, thus its introduction should begin from kindergarten so children are prepared for the future. However, the introduction of foreign language can be deteriorating for children's linguistic skill, in which the skill only partially mastered.