Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

School papers are the utmost effective method to examine the conduct of a scholar in learning institutes. On the other hand, constant assignments such as coursework and projects are not always the best approach to appraising pupils' performance in the subject. It is agreed that formal tests should be held by lecturers on how their students actually do on the test but not regularly. This essay will analyze why proper examinations need to be organized in class and why teachers should not only be dependent on continual coursework or project activities.

To begin with, whenever a school examination is held, there is the presence of the school's teachers and supervisors to ensure that there is less or no probability of cheating. It is undeniable that students should be thoroughly observed by the examiners since they will be afraid of being punished and they do not cheat on others' work. Apprentices will try their best to show how they perform on the test without relying on anyone. In addition, formal exams can benefit teachers to make sure that deserving students will receive good marks and outrank other classmates. Therefore, an organization of the proper test plays a vital role in assuring the capability of apprentices effectively along with the strict observation of teachers.

On the flip side, holding practical assignments regularly cannot give the apparently obvious picture to teachers and parents. For example, in universities and colleges, graduates can simply copy others' project tests and teachers fail to assess the real accomplishment of their disciples. Sadly, the phenomenon of plagiarism is challenging to deter and it can hamper the students to the success since college individuals do not use their own acquired knowledge and experiences to complete the task but instead passively copy others' work. This can be adverse to access to their future careers with a high position in the workplace.

Put it all together, the appropriate examinations should be held in the presence of examiners for it advantageous to check how students actually perform on their tasks to achieve the satisfactory result deserves with their ability. However, continual assessments cannot be a lucrative technique for teachers to depend on to mark the final grade of their tests.