Friendships can be very meaningful and special, but also very complicated. What are the qualities of a great friend? What are some things that can weaken a close relationship over time?

Friendship is a special relationship in people's life, unlike family or marriage, there is no blood connection or legal paperwork. However, great friendship fulfill our lives. The important factors of great a friend are being honest and supporting each other, but sometimes even in a very close relationship, it can be broken or weaker when people can not feel mutual respects from the other.

There are many types of friendships and what works best is different in each case. However, fundamentally, being honest and supporting each other are essential qualities for a good friend. Good friends can give honest advises to improve one's weakness. This might be frustrating to many people if it comes from someone else's mouths, but direct feedbacks from a friend is always helpful for people to do better in the next time. In addition to the honesty, people can count on a true friend if they face troubles. A good friend always provide support, advise, and no matter what happens, they are always on your side.

While developing a real friendship is very difficult and takes time, breaking it is very easy, because friendship is a very sensitive relationship. Many friendships can be swayed when one feels the other lacks respect. For example, I had a good friend when I was teenager, and I did not care if my friend changed appointments so frequently, but I was deeply disappointed when she told me something hurts my dignity. Thus, mutual respect is key to maintain a good friendship.

In conclusion, a great friend should be honest and supportive and treating a friend with respect is important for not to end such a close relationship.