In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's modern world, incredible inventions are being created every day. Therefore, it has been predicted that all auto mobiles, buses and lorries will be driverless in the future, and only passengers will travel by these transportations. As far as my opinion is concerned, I believe that the demerits of this tendency is more significant than its merits, and this essay will present my reasons.

To commence with, it is true that driverless vehicles might have some benefits. They can be time-saving, as well as their convenience might be beneficial to the community. This is because instead of spending their time driving, citizens could use that time for more vital activities, such as having an online meeting or reading documents. Additionally, since these transportations are automatic, dwellers could pick the nearest car, which would automatically drive to their position without having to wait for a considerable amount of time. Thus, the number of private cars would decrease significantly, which means the amount of carbon dioxide being released into the atmosphere would decline, therefore, the public health might be improved.

Nevertheless, this tendency could also has significant drawbacks. Driverless cars could be dangerous to the passengers in bad weather conditions, as well as unexpected situations, and they might result in a reduction of employment rate. Because they are operated to deal with certain common situations, in some cases, their inability to solve the problems could lead to death. Rainy days, for example, could make the roads wet and slippy, if a car is operated to run fast on the main road during this condition, it might put passengers in jeopardy of having accidents. Furthermore, jobs such as taxi drivers or delivering drivers would disappear since they have become redundant to the society. As a result, the crime rate would rise because of an increase in the rate of unemployment.

To sum up, although this tendency could be conducive to society, I contend that its detrimental effects is far greater.