Globalization and multinational companies

Recent decades have witnessed tremendous achievements in globalization and the rise of multinational corporations. While there can be no doubt that these technologies can be beneficial to society in some ways, I am of the opinion that these so-called civilized developments have brought more harm than good.

Although these companies often bring people prosperity and modernization with global products and services, it cannot be denied it also makes them vulnerable to attack from totalitarian regimes. The fact is the threat from dictatorial cabal is increasing because they are becoming more skillful at mass propaganda and political corruption upon human rights. Indeed, some of them have been successfully brainwashing the majority of human beings since the evolution of mass media and industrialization started a century ago.

Another downside of multinational organizations is how it influences traditional values with materialistic ones. While globalization offers incessant quality products and economic opportunities, they also replace moral culture and belief with excess greed and craving for more and more comfort and convenience. Even though human beings are thriving in the peak of abundant materialistic globalization, but we can not claim that we have created a healthy globe without and within ourselves. Because of the fact that these companies exploit extravagantly from Mother Earth and human labor, including children, to meet our superfluous demand and gluttony. This obviously hurts society as well as nature.

In conclusion, society has become a “slightly less lovely” place regarding the adverse features of globalization. While multinational companies will continue to bring necessary materialistic economy, nonetheless, the damage that results from its formidable power of negative totalitarianism and its one-world dictatorship on people’s welfare and well-being, will, I fear, likely outweigh the benefits.