Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Government investment has been a topic of hot debate. Some individuals argue that these resources should be used in arts such as music and theatre because of social reasons. Nonetheless, in my opinion, it is completely justified that state must allocate most of its budget on public services due to numerus benefits.

There are a number of reasons as to why government ought to spend more money on public services. One clear reason comes from the facts that public services such as schools, police and health services provide benefit for all. When the state invests more money in these services, the public will get better education, security and improve in their wellbeing. These issues have a positive impact on people life and increase their productivity, which is going to reflect in the overall people’s life.

Another reason stems from the fact that increasing government’s funding in the public services will improve people’s quality of life. Many of public sector workers like teachers, polices and nurses are receiving payment less than inflation rate increase. This situation, which is delivered from a significant cut from government, puts peoples’ lives at more risk and makes them have a miserable life condition. As a result, people in power should increase public services’ budget to end years of austerity and eliminate in-work poverty.

In conclusion, an increasing concern for many people around government funding will continue as some people would argue that it is better to fund more in the arts. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that it is more beneficial to all if the state invests in public services.