Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Government’s funding has been a topic of hot debate. Some people believe that spending money in the entertainment sectors such as, arts and theatres is a waste of government revenues because of social and environmental factors. Nonetheless, in my opinion, it’s completely justified that, investing on public services is extremely positive due to multiple reasons.

There are many reasons as to why investment in public services such as, health and education can be beneficial for the mankind. That is because, public servants do job that have positive impact on every member of the society. Finding for health and education research help to find complete cure for chronic diseases, such as diabetes and cancer. Also, citizens use schools, hospitals and they need the security that the police provides. Therefore, if analysed properly, there is no argument to the fact that , the majority of people could be lifted out of poverty and given better quality of life, if the government reallocated the money spent on arts.

Another reason stems from the fact that, development of public transportation has a positive impact on environment. Increase public transit can help decrease air pollution by reducing greenhouse gas emissions. For example, Improving networks system , such as maintenance of the roads, building new motorways, and underground trains and Metrolink , help to decrease congestion in the traffic and reduce carbon dioxide emissions by cars. Based on these reasons, it is not a far-fetched conclusion to say that , improving public transportation are environmental friendly.

In conclusion, investment by the government in various sectors is a burning topic. Many believe that arts should be the sector getting all resources from the party. Nevertheless, I stand firm by my opinion that, government should spend money on services that benefit all members of society.