Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As transportation plays a key role in the development of societies, it has been a matter of many controversies. While many believe that governments should invest more in railroads, others believe that roads are as important. I personally believe that rail systems should be prioritized over roads for the matter of sustainability and cost-effectiveness.

Trains are more economical modes of transportations. On the one hand, their maintenance and operational costs are far less than road transport, on the other hand, they offer cheaper fees for commuters. Although railway network, as a luxurious infrastructure for some developing countries, requires larger amounts of investment, in the long run, the lower maintenance and operational costs make it a considerably cost-effective choice. Furthermore, as trains, LRTs and subways can transport myriads of commuters at one, they offer cheaper and more economical fees for users, making them the first choice of many.

Railways make a great contribution to enhancing sustainability. Firstly, since trains and subways usually work with electricity, they are more sustainable and environmentally friendly. Secondly, rail transport can carry a large number of commuters that in comparison to road vehicles uses much less energy. In addition, it is a proven fact that building more road networks leads to stimulating the latent demand for road vehicles, which is hindered by traffic congestion. This means investment in roads leads to an exponential rise in car trips, increasing fossil fuel consumption.

In conclusion, I do believe that policymakers should invest more in train systems because they are more sustainable and financially justifiable.