The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern and innovative world, where automation and new technologies are booming at a dramatic rate, it has become a challenge for the masses to resist themselves from the modern lifestyle which is affecting their health by posing a risk of getting overweight and many other related issues. Few people are of the view that expanding the school curriculum by introducing physical education can be a simple and effective solution to the emerging problem, while many others claim that a collaborative approach is needed to mitigate the increasing pressure on the healthcare system. I am in accord with the latter statement and think that a single institution alone cannot grapple the issue without the contribution from the related platforms.

School, where children spend their maximum time on a weekly basis, is considered as a second home for them. It is an undeniable fact that adding a compulsory physical class in a school will help children in acquiring healthy workout habits at an early ages, which will go a long way in their lives. For example, a well educated physically fit adult will pass on his/her learnings to their family and upcoming generations. Hence, having been trained at the school, the children can help in maintaining a healthy future lifestyle.

Although school is a healthy and reliable place for children, the efficacy of a family's role is indispensable. The first school of any child is its family, where one learns to acquire healthy living habits. Parents act as a role model for their children, following whom they learn to structure their daily routine. For instance, kids from a family, who follows a strict and healthy eating and workout regime will surely adapt to new physical learnings in school as well. So, in order to accelerate the agenda designed by one system, equal co-operation is needed from the other as well.

To conclude, the worry of any country related to health of its youth is on a surge. Nowadays, it is a point of moot that how can a school or other involved bodies be taken into consideration in order to gobble up this problem. In my opinion, simply putting a burden on one system can do nothing fruitful rather it should be a shared responsibility.