How should we ensure that television is a positive influence in the life of children?

The invention of television is one of the greatest invention in the 20th century. With TV, the developments of the world are becoming accessible to children, which helps them broaden their knowledge. Conversely, parents should be careful on the uses of TV by children to ensure they have positive consequences to their sons and daughters.

The television brings many advantages to young users. To begin with, TV is a good platform for kids to explore the world. Although kids are at home, they can get information about all parts of the world. For instance, a city child may not know how is an insect look like, so they focus on attractive wildlife programs on TV to figure out it’s appearance. Many programs are well designed that activates children’s curiosity and they seem never fed up with watching these programs. Secondly, TV is also an entertainment device which helps children relaxed after study. Funny TV shows, fairytales etc. are the most popular among infants. Furthermore, in case their parents all go out to work, then children are left at home with a TV will make them feel less lonely and scared.

However, to ensure these benefits happened, parents should control their uses of TV. Firstly, they should restrict their children’s TV using time. The appropriate way to do this is to set a time limit for these devices, one and a half hours is a suitable using period for each day and two hours would be the maximum. In addition, they should plan a weekly TV using schedule for their daughters and sons to get the best profit from television. Secondly, to avoid the overuse of TV, which may leads to distinct serious drawbacks such as obesity, shortsighted etc. parents should encourage teenagers to do more outdoors activities instead of watching TV all days. Last but not least, restriction for under 18 users is a must set for the TV. Parents should limit the number of channels that the children can access to avoid contents which are not suitable for kids.

In conclusion, I would argue that television is a profitable device for children if their parents can rationally control their usage.