Human beings do not need to eat meat in order to maintain good health because they can get all their food needs from meatless products and meatless substitutes. A vegetation diet is as healthy as a diet containing meat. Argue for or against the opinion above.

Nowadays people are becoming more conscious about the products that they are consuming. In choosing the food for the families they consider not only the taste but they also take into account balanced and moderate eating as the issue of obesity is frequently discussed these days. Recent interest to vegetarian diet is being fuels by activists trying to discredit the health benefits of animal food. A vegetarian diet is broadly defined as a diet excluding animal products such as meat, poultry and fish. However, I am skeptical about the idea that people do not need to eat meat to be healthy.

First of all, meat is a rich source of protein that the human body needs to survive. Vegetarians can get protein from products such as beans, grains, seeds and soy products. Therefore, if there is enough protein provided to satisfy daily requirement the human can totally be healthy without meat.

However, as I know, proteins which are contained in meat are easier to digest and absorbed by the body. Secondly, the amount of vitamins in plants is less, so. For instance, to get sufficient amount of calcium from vegetables you need to eat 3 kg of potato per day.

So taking into account all said above I believe that vegetarian diet is not so balanced diet. I am totally convinced that vegetarians do not consume meat because of moral and ethnic side of the issue. And I agree that people shouldn’t kill wild animals but instead they should eat specially bred livestock for eating purpose. Furthermore, reducing the meat amount and having the balanced diet consisting of both vegetables and meat is ideal for health and it might eliminate the arguments about the issue of healthiness of vegetarian diet.