Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and society as a whole?

In this modern world, many countries are still struggling with the problem of illiteracy. I think there are two main causes of this issue and three main effects for people concerned and the society.

Perhaps, the major cause from this would be geographical factors. There are places on the earth which have not seen the real discovery of technology because of the limitations of tools to reach them out, leading to limit people who want to pursue an education. Another key cause is lack of government funds. In fact, demands in several areas such as health, infrastructure, projects and social welfare become the main concern for some developing countries. As a result, they cannot sustain the basic need for education, especially for illiteracy issue.

The effects on illiterate people and whole society are that, first, illiteracy is linked to poor health. Illiterate people do not have access to the information that shows the, how t stay healthy. For example, illiterate people may not know the extent to which smoking can negatively impact their health. Moreover, illiteracy contributes to high unemployment rates in a society. In many societies, job markets are shrinking for people with high skill levels. For people who lack adequate reading skills, it may be difficult for them to find and keep a job. Furthermore, illiteracy decreases the rate of technological advancements in society. People who are illiterate do not have skills to keep up with technology. As a result, society suffers because its people are unable to move forward the technology.

Overall, geographical factors and lack of government funds are the key causes behind illiteracy. The effects on the illiterate and the society are poor health, increasing number of unemployment and decrease in technological advancements.