An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In contemporary era, man can withstand nowhere without education. According to research, there is a trend of providing laptops and tablets to the students in the schools in place of books and other materials. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of giving computers to use in schools.

To commence with, a foremost reason is that by providing laptop and tablet, professors can easily share the information through internet using emails or by using education specific apps. Moreover, even scholars can get access to the various information available on the internet. Also, students do not need to carry big bags to and from schools which saves their energy. This will increase their performance in classes. In addition to this, it helps to save paper as more information is transferred digitally which overall help to save the trees. For instance, a survey conducted by Environmental and Natural Resources stated that 60% of trees are saved which previously used for paper production.

On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages of using laptops. Firstly, the use of internet while studying on these gadgets can distract children from concentrating on their topic. As there are various online games and videos available for free on these sources which can be misused by students in place of studying. Secondly, continues use of these gadgets have major impact on health especially on eyes. A recent study by University of Kentucky reveals that there is a 75% increase in the children whose eyesight gets weaker at a young age.

To recapitulate the given points, even though there are negative aspects of providing tablets and laptops in schools yet I believe it depends upon the use of such facilities.