An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is a growing trend that many schools introduce technical devices such as tablets and computers for students as alternative of books and other paper based materials. While it costs school for providing such devices for each student, there are significant advantages for both students and teachers.

Purchasing the digital devices for students is probably more expensive than using papers even though it does not need to be the most advanced version. Also, school needs to provide secure internet network for students as well as it requires certain maintenance regular basis. Further more, it might be needed to hire technical experts to give proper technical environment. Thus, such an initial cost and a running cost can be burden for school, so this is obviously a disadvantage of using digital devices in classroom.

On the other hand, students can acquire basic literacy of such digital devices and this can be beneficial in terms of preparing for using these devices after graduating school, because today, most of the jobs need using technological equipment such as laptop and mobile phones. Also, teachers can check test scores easily if these are based on e-learnings. Such time efficiency makes teachers daily lives significantly easier since teachers in these days have an enormous amount of paper works. As such, introducing digital tools in school benefit both students and teachers.

In conclusion, although school needs to endure some financial burden, using technology in crass room train students in a practical way and it eases teachers' stress by reducing working time.