increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

to what extent do you agree or disagree? what other measures do you think might be effective.

Growing traffic and pollution are problems that we are facing. there is an opinion that the most effective way to solve these problems is increaseing the price of petrol. in my point of view, this solution might help to some extent but it is not the best way to reduce growing traffic and pollution issues.

On one hand, higher petrol price can reduce traffic jam and pollution problems. It discourages people using their private vehicle. when the expense for using private vehicle per month increases, people tend to reduce it to a reasonable amount by reducing unessary trips or chosing alternative movement instrument like blike or public transport. Therefor, the amount of vehicle on the road will reduce as well as emissions from those. Less vehicle also means less noisy sound, which reducing sound pollution. This is essential for the areas having schools, hospitals and working areas.

On the other hand, there are many ways to solve the congestion and problems issues, which is more effective, but not affect the convinience. having vehicle consumes green energy, for example, solar power or electricity can reduce the emmissions and those machine tend to be less noiser than the one using fossil fuel. Upgrating the public transport system to be more convinient, cheaper and comfortable, and investing in campaigns encouraging people walking or bilking for well-being can also reduce the growing traffic and pollusion problems. Eventhough, these solutions need time and effort, its benefits can last long. While higher petrol price can bring result straight away, but it has a negative effect to the economic.

To sum up, reducing traffic and pollution is not one day mission. Increasing the price of petrol can bring results in short term, however, it is not the best sollusion.