Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

As matter of the fact, increasing traffic density and pollution have become to the alarming issues contemporary world. In my opinion, it is not the best method and alternative options should be taken to address these issues.

On the one side, if the price of petrol increasing it would make people to use their private vehicles. Not only is this cause to reduce the traffic jam but also, the weather getting cleaner. Because people have more tendency to use public transportation. This is uneconomical to use their own vehicles because of petrol price. Obviously, there are some environmental benefits to increasing the cost of fuel.

On the other side, increasing petrol effect on poor and middle families and it is not a viable solution. because of increasing petrol price, they forced to use public transport, while at the same time rich people who own most of the cars will continue to drive their personal vehicles. In addition, increasing cost of the fuel has essential effect on commodities and getting more expensive that will be another blow for poor people. The better solution is to improve the infrastructure. Roads should be widened and more flyovers and underpass should be built. The responsibility of he government is encourage the businesses to move their offices either to suburbs or rural areas as this measure will help to decongest cities.

As a result, raising the cost of petrol might help to some extent, but it is not a viable solution as its downsides outweigh the advantages. I think with improve the infrastructure in cites and developing smaller towns are more effective ways to decongest cities and solve traffic problem.