Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Indeed, growing traffic density and pollution have become alarming issues in the contemporary world. It is suggested that the price of petrol / oil should be hiked. In my opinion, this is not a very effective method and alternative steps should be taken to address these issues.

On the one hand, raising / hiking / increasing the cost of petrol would encourage travellers to adopt other cost-effective means of transportation such as public transit and cycles. If petrol is unaffordable, people are less likely to use their private vehicles frequently. Along with number of private vehicles plying on the roads, the level of obnoxious gases exhausted by them will also reduce / plummet, leading to cleaner air. Obviously, there are some environmental benefits to increasing the cost of fuel.

On the other hand, this is not a viable solution because it will only affect the poor and middle class people. If petrol becomes unaffordable, they will be forced to use public transport. At the same time, rich people who own most of the cars will continue to drive their personal vehicles. Raising the cost of fuel will also make essential commodities more expensive and that will be another blow for poor people. In my opinion, a better solution is to improve the infrastructure. Roads should be widened and more flyovers should be built. The government should also encourage businesses to move their offices to the suburbs or rural areas as this measure will help to decongest cities.

In conclusion, raising the cost of petrol might help to some extent, but it is not a viable solution as its downsides outweigh the advantages. In my opinion, improving the road infrastructure in cities and developing smaller towns are more effective ways to decongest cities and solve traffic problems.