Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Recently, traffic jam and air pollution are huge problems in big cities which require more attention of goverment and individual to solve. Some people are in alarm that increasing the price of petrol is the most optimal way to deal with the problem of crowed traffic and environmental problems. Personally, I agree with this opinion because of some reasons.

On the one hand, an optimal way to reduce traffic congestion and pollution is rising the petroleum price. Firstly, this method will affect directly resident's budget which make them consider carefully before using their vehicle to travel. This may lead to the possibility that the current frequency of using private vehicles would be lower than that in the past. And as a result, the number of vehicle on road would be reduced and air pollution also then would be decreased. Secondly, high petroleum price may make people think to use public transport or others which use alternative sources such as electricity or hydric power. Reducing the consumption of petrol lead to decreasing of carbon dioxide emission released from car and motobike. Hence, pollution would be declined.

On the other hand, there are some other solutions which are effective in helping tackle traffic congestion and pollution. The first one is extending road which is helpful in dealing with traffic jam in rush hours. The second method is improving public transport system in big city. The reason people use their vehicle to go out is that they don't have to waste time to wait bus. Then, if the schedule of bus line is more frequent and effective, more people will use bus instead of private vehicles. And clearly, the number of car and motobike and emissions from transport would be reduced. Lastly, it's also necessary for goverment to reduce immigration into big cities by creating more jobs, constructing more factory, building office in rural area. Then, the numer of people to traveling long distance to reach workplace would be fell.

In conclusion, while I agree that traffic and air pollution would be solved by increasing the price of petrol, there are also several other measures which should be considered and adapted to help reducing the number of vehicles on road and emissions from private transport