Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Recently, some people are in alarm that students should be taught the knowledge and skills that adapt for future career in universities while others believe that university should convey the knowledge in the way students understand, no matter it's useful for work. Personaly, I think it's better when university support and create environment for students develop their knowledge and skills for job after graduating.

On the one hand, it's understandable that universities should provide students with the academic knowledge, regardless of whether it's helpful for an employer. Firstly, students who graduate from university with high level of education and degree qualifications will more likely have more opportunities to find job with high salary. Realistically, many students choose pursue higher academic in university after high school in order to seek job and get high living standard in the future. This is due to the fact that employers usually highly appreciate qualified employees. Secondly, knowledge that student gain in universities is important because many jobs require higher level of education to tackle the technologically demanding occcupation in the future. For instance, doctor, engineering, architecture,... can not do experiment in reality if they do not master in academic knowledge. Morever, knowledgr in universities also improve individual's thinking abilities, creativity,...which is helpful for development in the future.

On the other hand, I assume that universities also should focus on supporting students to gain skills which is useful in the workplace. The competition in job market cause an increasing of the number of unemployees because too many graduates have high educated degree but lack of working skills. Universities need to pay more attention on training working skills for their seniors, which help students can understand how to work after graduation. Any career need to combine both theorial knowledge and practical skills to achieve the best results. Being trained in universities will help graduates easier to work and in near future, it can help economy develop by reducing unskilled workers.

In conclusion, it seems to me that universities should give priority to supporting students on both knowledge and essential skills which is neccessary for future job instead of just providing theory.