Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is certainly true that the issues related to environmental pollution have become one of the most controversial issues today, and every nation is wondering about how to tackle the problem. A chunks of individuals opines that due to increasing petrol price, it would be reduced traffic congestion and pollution. I am not completely agree with this statement because other factor are important to traffic and pollution problem. this essay will be analyzed with assisting evidence.

To begin with, some people believe that vehicle is mainly depend on price of fuel. First of all, due to increasing price, many middle class and poor people do not spend more money in fuel as consequence they prefer to travel by public transport rather than personal vehicle in long distance. Recently, Times of India carried a survey in city of Delhi and concluded that last year almost 40% people used public transport as metro, railway, city bus from own personal vehicle due to hiking prices of fuels. Moreover, today's world many people have chosen to travel by bicycle in short distance because, it do not damage to any pollution and they needed small area for park. Recently, transport department of Gujarat carried a survey of how many vehicle was sold in last year and informed that bicycle selling rate was drastically increased by almost 30% in 2020 compared with 2019. Overall, many people changed their travel pattern from personal vehicle to public transport for long distance as well as bicycle for shorter distance.

On the other hand, if high taxes should be imposed by government on private vehicle as a result many people will not afford to buy a new vehicle, which can help to reduce traffic problem and pollution. Apart from this, government should apply new traffic rules as odd even formula. this formula depend on vehicle's number total , if they sum is odd, then they will move 3 days in week, whereas other days are moved by even sum vehicle.

In recapitulation, I believe that increasing price of fuel citizen can change their daily travel routing and prefer to public transport and bicycle. However, problem of traffic and pollution which also reduced by increase of taxes on new vehicle and apply new odd even formula.