Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is an extended belief that individuals can do nothing to save the planet and that they are the governments and large companies who must take responsibility and look out the environment. However, despite agreeing with the fact that bigger powers can execute stronger actions, I think that every person is capable to impact their surroundings.

To start, big changes are made of the sum of a lot of small changes. For example, a sole commuter deciding to take the train instead of the car can be not significant in comparison with thousands of people driving to work. Nonetheless, it becomes a large amount of emissions reduced when we consider the total of drivers refusing to use their own vehicle, moreover a personal achievement when we calculate the total hours of transport during a whole year.

Individual inputs generate major outcomes when we study smaller areas. Instead of worrying about such global problems as farmhouse effect, we can focus on taking care of our local flora, for example. As a case of study, we can spot every global environmental issue that threatens Iceland musk, such as CO2 emissions, etc. But a single person can do a lot to save that protected plant, like not camping, driving or stepping over.

Still, it is true that good policies no matter if they come from the countries’ government or from conscious corporations, are the greatest to lead the change. They not only have the economic means to do so, but sometimes are the major cause of environmental destruction.

In any case, people must get empowered with their decision capability and make sensible choices on which parties they vote or brands they consume, and therefore they support.