International travel and tourism has become easier and more affordable. Is this a positive or a negative development?

With the advancement of technology, the world is becoming increasingly interconnected day by day. As a result, international travels and tourism is now more accessible and affordable than ever. In my opinion, this is a positive development for two key reasons.

To begin, tourism has been the greatest source of revenue for some of the countries which are naturally blessed with beautiful landscapes and scenarios. Moreover, people by nature is a curious being. So, with the availability of cheap overseas flights, people can explore the world more and learn about the cultures of foreign countries. Their vacations are not limited to their own countries anymore. On the other hand, countries which depend largely on its tourism revenues such as Sri Lanka, India etc. are also benefitting from such increased tourisms.

Furthermore, due to the increasing convenience of international travel, countries do not have to depend on their national reserves and resources anymore. For example, a developed country in need of more labor forces can bring in skilled people from another country without much difficulty. In addition, students from underdeveloped countries wanting to pursue higher studies in fields that are not being offered in their own countries, can conveniently travel abroad to fulfill their dreams of studying the subject of their interest. So, affordable international travel has made it easier for students or workers to travel to foreign countries to explore the opportunities suitable for their personal growth.

In conclusion, because of easier and affordable foreign travel, tourism is now a huge revenue sector for the world and people can quench their thirst for exploring the world at an affordable rate as well. Convenient overseas travel has also opened new opportunities for students and workforces abroad.